Former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop during his conversation with Harsha Bhogle on Cricbuzz picked his ODI team for the decade. The side includes certain players who would be automatic choices for any XI of the decade, while some key names were excluded. The squad includes 3 players from India, 2 each from Australia and South Africa and 1 each from Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Afghanistan and Bangladesh

The veteran picked David Warner and Rohit Sharma as openers. The reason being both openers are explosive and have played a key role in their respective team’s success in recent years. And they have matured as their careers progressed, putting a value on their wicket. Virat Kohli at 3 was a no-brainer given his incredible numbers.

Former South African skipper AB de Villiers, who retired in 2018, was picked for the crucial number four slot. At five, Kiwi veteran Ross Taylor finds a spot because of his consistency.

Shakib Al Hasan at six is the all-rounder for the side and the fifth bowling option. Shakib has dominated the all-rounders rankings in the last decade and deserved a place in the XI, especially after his heroics in the 2019 World Cup.

Bishop picked MS Dhoni, who is at the twilight of his career, as the wicket-keeper and the leader of the side. Dhoni’s tremendous achievements as a skipper as well as a finisher in the last decade made him an invaluable asset.

Dhoni captain in Ian Bishop's XI
Bishop picked MS Dhoni to lead his ODI team of the decade

Among the pacers, Ian Bishop went with Mitchell Starc, Dale Steyn and Lasith Malinga. Having a dilemma between Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga, he went with the Lankan legend who has been a match-winner for them for a long period. Rashid Khan is the lone specialist spinner in the side. Though there were options available who had done almost equally good, Rashid’s incredible numbers and the immense potential he has edged others.

Ian Bishop’s ODI XI of the Decade:

Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Ross Taylor, Shakib Al Hasan, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Mitchell Starc, Dale Steyn, Rashid Khan, Lasith Malinga