The West Indies have agreed to tour England in July, with the first for the three Tests starting on July 8 at the Ageas Bowl. This series will mark the resumption of cricket post a 4-month break due to Covid-19. This series will also be a part of the World Test Championship.

Reports have emerged that the West Indies selectors have selected the squad for the series. However, Darren Bravo, Keemo Paul and Shimron Hetmyer have opted out of the tour and will not be part of the squad.

darren bravo west indies
Darren Bravo, along with Keemo Paul and Shimron Hetmyer, have opted out of the England tour

The selectors had a hard time selecting the squad, as per cricket commentator and talk show host Andrew Mason, but in the end, came up with a squad that includes the recalled Jermaine Blackwood and Shannon Gabriel. The squad is expected to depart for England on June 8. The squad will use Old Trafford as their base for training and quarantining before traveling to Ageas Bowl for the first Test.

West Indies Squad:

Jason Holder (c), Kraigg Brathwaite, Shane Dowrich, Shai Hope, Nkrumah Bonner, Alzarri Joseph, Roston Chase, Shemrah Brooks, Raymon Reifer, Chemar Holder, John Campbell, Rakheem Cornwall, Kemar Roach, Jermaine Blackwood

The West Indies will be in UK for about four weeks and will be housed in a bio-secure environment while they get up to speed before the start of the first Test on July 8 at the Ageas Bowl. Old Trafford will be the host for the second and third Tests.

Two venues were selected out of four which submitted an interest for hosting the Tests and demonstrated an ability to meet criteria surrounding biosecurity, medical screening-esting provision, footprint to enable social distancing and venue-cricket loperations. Edgbaston was picked as a contingency venue and will be used for additional training throughout July.